Or, to put it simply:

Hello. My name is Tanya. Do you speak German?

Though it might be much more useful to start with the phrase ‘Do you speak English?’

Sprechen Sie Englisch?

Hey, I think we are on first-name terms here, so let’s just say:

Sprichst du Englisch? (informal: Do you speak English?)

This post is all about simple phrases I need to know to introduce myself and to greet people.


Greetings in German

Hallo. – Hi / Hello
Guten Morgen. – Good Morning. (6 a.m. till 11 a.m.)
Guten Tag. – Hello (lit. Good day) ( 11 a.m. till 6 p.m.)
Guten Abend. – Good evening. (6 p.m. …)
Gute Nacht. – Good night.


Saying Goodbye

Auf Wiedersehen. – Goodbye (lit. till again see)
Wiedersehen. – See you later.
Tschüs. – Bye!
Bis Bald! – See you soon.


Introducing yourself in German

So, as I mentioned before, and there is no such thing as repeating too many times when it comes to learning a foreign language, to introduce myself I may use the following phrases:

Ich heiße Tanya . – My name is __(your name)___.

Ich bin Tanya Smidt. – I am __(your name and surname)__.

Ich komme aus Finnland. – I come from ____________ / I’m from _____________.

Ich spreche Englisch und ein bisschen Französisch. – I speak English and a little French.

I think it’s enough for today. Let’s take things one step at a time.

Enjoy it!
Bis Bald 😉

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

